Shop for Seattle Seahawks gear at

Seahawks Super Bowl XLVIII Post Game Notes

Super Bowl XLVIII - Seattle Seahawks v Denver Broncos

– With their win, the Seattle Seahawks are now the 19th NFL franchise to win a Super Bowl title.

– The Seahawks are the first team in Super Bowl history to score a safety, as well as touchdowns by rushing, passing, returning a kickoff and returning an interception. The Baltimore Ravens in winning Super Bowl XXXV did score touchdowns by those four methods, but they did not have a safety. Both teams also kicked field goals.

– At age 62, Pete Carroll is now the third-oldest coach to win a Super Bowl. Tom Coughlin was 65 when his Giants won Super Bowl XLVI. Dick Vermeil was 63 when the Rams won Super Bowl XXXIV. Pete Carroll is the third coach to win both a Super Bowl and NCAA title, joining Jimmy Johnson and Barry Switzer.

– At 49 degrees Fahrenheit, this was the third-coldest outdoor Super Bowl in history. The 39-degree kickoff for Super Bowl VI remains the coldest, followed by 46 degrees at kickoff for Super Bowl IX. Both games were played at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans.

– The opening safety after 12 seconds of play marked the fastest score in Super Bowl history. Peyton Manning was also on the opposing team of the previous fastest score. The 92-yard return of the opening kickoff by Devin Hester of the Bears took 14 seconds in Super Bowl XLI against Indianapolis (won by the Colts, 29-17).

– The Seahawks also scored after exactly 12 seconds had elapsed in the second half. Percy Harvin’s 87-yard kickoff return, the 10th in Super Bowl history, took that long.

– Linebacker Malcolm Smith is the first defensive player to win Super Bowl MVP honors since Dexter Jackson of the Buccaneers in Super Bowl XXXVII, ending a streak of 10 straight quarterbacks or wide receivers.

– It is the eighth time the defense has produced the Super Bowl MVP (nine players have won that honor with Randy White and Harvey Martin sharing the award for Dallas in Super Bowl XII).

– Malcolm Smith joins Chuck Howley (Dallas in Super Bowl V) and Ray Lewis (Baltimore in Super Bowl XXXV) as the only linebackers to win Super Bowl MVP honors.

– Malcolm Smith did not intercept a pass in his first 43 games (regular season and professional). Beginning with the Week 16 game with Arizona, he is now on a run of four interceptions in his last five games. He is the first player ever to return an interception for a touchdown and recover a fumble in the same Super Bowl game. His 69-yard return was the 13th TD on an interception return in Super Bowl history (fourth-longest among scoring INT returns).

– The NFC has now won four of the last five Super Bowls and leads the AFC, 26-22.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Seahawks Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply

Write For Us